News Videos
International Edition


May 28, 2017

Breaking News, World News and Taiwan News.
About Us
Contact Us

11 Control Yuan nominees rejected, 16 approved

TAIPEI -- The Legislative Yuan rejected 11 nominees for the Control Yuan Tuesday, but approved 16 others during a confirmation vote.

The 11 Control Yuan nominees who were rejected are incumbent Control Yuan members Cheng Jen-hung (程仁宏), Shen Mei-chen (沈美真), Li Bing-nan (李炳南) and Yu Teng-fang (余騰芳); Hsu Kuo-wen (許國文), chairman of the Lo-Hsu Foundation; Kang Jaw-jou (康照洲), former director-general of the Food and Drug Administration under the Ministry of Health and Welfare; Hsue Chun-ming (薛春明), incumbent deputy secretary-general of Taipei City Hall; Shih Hung-chih (施鴻志), a professor at Kang Ning University; Fan Liang-shiow (范良銹), former chairman of the Public Construction Commission; Wang Huei-po (王惠珀), a professor at Taipei Medical University; and Hsu Wen-pin (許文彬), incumbent national policy advisor to President Ma Ying-jeou.

According to amendments to the Constitution, members of the Control Yuan serve terms of six years and the president is empowered to appoint all 29 members, subject to the approval of the Legislature.

President Ma Ying-jeou will now have to submit another list of nominations to the Legislature for approval to replace the 11 rejected nominees, according to the relevant regulations.

The new members of the Control Yuan will begin their six-year terms Aug. 1.

Write a Comment
CAPTCHA Code Image
Type in image code
Change the code
 Receive our promos
 Respond to this email
Subscribe  |   Advertise  |   RSS Feed  |   About Us  |   Career  |   Contact Us
Sitemap  |   Top Stories  |   Taiwan  |   China  |   Business  |   Asia  |   World  |   Sports  |   Life  |   Arts & Leisure  |   Health  |   Editorial  |   Commentary
Travel  |   Movies  |   TV Listings  |   Classifieds  |   Bookstore  |   Getting Around  |   Weather  |   Guide Post  |   Student Post  |   Terms of Use  |   Sitemap
  chinapost search