News Videos
International Edition


June 26, 2017

Breaking News, World News and Taiwan News.
About Us
Contact Us


There are five separate "eyes" that are linked together, which observe your every moment and personal life 24 hours a day.

"Five Eyes" is the name of the joint intelligence network of five countries, which are the UK, the U.S., Canada, Australia and New Zealand. The beginning of the network dates to the UKUSA, an agreement to share intelligence signed between the UK and the U.S. in March 1946. Founded by the U.S. and the UK, UKUSA was transformed into the "Five Eyes" alliance by including the British Commonwealth members Canada, Australia and New Zealand over the following years. Thus, the foundation for a giant intelligence network which monitors the communication traffic in all continents from five different points and shares this information with the allied countries was laid.

This alliance between five Anglosphere countries is based upon the principles of sharing every kind of intelligence (primarily the signals information called SIGNIT) between each other and a vow to never spy on member countries. This 70-year-old alliance monitors, analyzes and stores the world's communications today with its built-in global monitoring substructure.

The primary intelligence services of these five countries constitute the essential parts of this monitoring system: the U.S.'s "NSA," the UK's "GCHQ," Canada's "CSEC," Australia's "ASD" and New Zealand's "GCSB" being the major ones. In addition to this, other numerous subsidiary intelligence services are the most important sources of the "Five Eyes" network.

Among these, for example, there is the RAF (Royal Air Force) of the UK, which is known as the biggest electronic monitoring center in the world.

Here, intelligence is gathered for U.S. and the UK by monitoring the communication networks of the whole world. Even if we consider that only the NSA and the RAF are a part of this system, the strength and the extent of the capacity of "Five Eyes" to gather intelligence can be better understood.

As it is known, the documents revealing the secret relationships between the Five Eyes countries and the global intelligence operations they carried out were exposed by the former CIA and NSA employee Edward Snowden in 2013. These documents, which were featured in The Guardian, The Washington Post, Der Spiegel and The New York Times, brought the details of the illegal monitoring and intelligence gathering operations of Five Eyes into the light.

Far-reaching Tentacles

According to the documents, among the bodies English intelligence service listened and monitored in liaison with the NSA were diplomats from the G-20 summit, the presidents of countries including Germany, Brazil and Mexico, politicians, U.N. offices, various embassies and media outlets. The bugging and the eavesdropping of Kofi Annan's office during the early stages of the Iraq War can be considered as one of the many activities of English secret service.

There are satellite dishes, listening and monitoring stations belonging to the NSA and English GCHQ in embassies, military bases and agencies all over the world.

These have immediate access to the security cameras of almost all countries. English and American ships along the Chinese coastline are listening to the radio communications in the region.

Advertise  |   RSS Feed  |   About Us  |   Contact Us
Home  |   Taiwan  |   China  |   Business  |   Asia  |   World  |   Sports  |   Life  |  
Arts & Leisure  |   Health  |   Editorial  |   Commentary Travel  |   Movies  |   Guide Post  |   Terms of Use  |  
  chinapost search